Hans Dahll Award


The late Hans H. Dahll was a founding director of the Citizen CPR Foundation and served on the Board of Directors from its inception in 1987 until 2000.

The Citizen CPR Foundation became a reality in large measure because of Hans Dahll and he served as the foundation’s treasurer for eight years. Hans also provided the stimulus to create the newsletter Currents which was published as a joint venture between the American Heart Association and CCPRF. He was always quite eager to initiate the path to success in a particular area, work hard with other individuals to achieve that task, be quite willing to let others take the credit and enjoy their successes. In his own unselfish way, Hans was quite independent of his very prominent corporate position and contributed greatly to CPR and ECC (emergency cardiovascular care) efforts nationally and internationally.

In recognition of the contributions Hans made to the field, in 1988 the Citizen CPR Foundation established the prestigious Hans H. Dahll Award in his honor.

By definition, recipients of the Hans H. Dahll Award have had many years of service in research and publication, teaching and education, landmark contributions to the science of CPR and ECC, developed new and innovative technological breakthroughs and had a national and international influence on clinical practice.

This award has been presented to leaders in the field at every Emergency Cardiovascular Care Update (ECCU) conference since 1990.


The annual Hans Dahll award is given based on the following criteria:

1. Ongoing contribution to CPR and ECC over time

2. Substantial contribution ECC programs and materials

3. Authorship of articles, books, and education and teaching materials related to CPR and ECC

4. Landmark contribution to the science of CPR and ECC

5. Development of new and innovative technological breakthroughs

6. Positive influence on progression toward goals of ECC programs

7. Have made CPR and ECC prominent aspects of their careers

8. Have received national and international recognition for contributions to ECC

9. Are in the later stages of their careers

10. Are currently recognized as major contributors but were not previously honored

Meet the 2023 Hans Dahll Winner: Karl B. Kern, MD


Before retiring as a professor emeritus in July 2022, Dr. Kern was the Gordon A. Ewy, MD Distinguished Endowed Chair of Cardiovascular Medicine at the University of Arizona Sarver Heart Center, chair of the Sarver Heart Center Resuscitation Research Group and professor of medicine at the UArizona College of Medicine – Tucson. Dr. Kern graduated magna cum laude from Brigham Young University. Following his graduation, he attended Hahnemann Medical College in Philadelphia, where he graduated Alpha Omega Alpha.  His postgraduate education and cardiac fellowship training were at the University of Arizona.

Dr. Kern is a fellow of the American College of Physicians, a fellow of both the Council of Clinical Cardiology and the Cardiopulmonary, Critical Care, Peri-operative, and Resuscitaiton Council of the American Heart Association, a fellow of the American College of Chest Physicians, a fellow of the American College of Cardiology and a fellow of the Society for Cardiovascular Angiography and Interventions.

Dr. Kern’s research interests are in cardiopulmonary resuscitation and coronary blood flow. He is the coordinator of the University of Arizona Sarver Heart Center Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Research Group. He was inducted as an honorary member of the European Resuscitation Council in 2014 and named a CPR Giant by the International Liaison Committee on Resuscitation in 2015. He has been awarded numerous American Heart Association grants, an AHA-Flinn Young Investigator award, and two three-year awards from the Arizona Disease Control Research Commission grant in the area of basic CPR research, and one three year award to perform an investigator-initiated pilot RCT of early cath versus no early cath for those post cardiac arrest without ST elevation. He has published over 250 scholarly reports, including 180 peer-reviewed original scientific articles.

He has received numerous honors for excellence in teaching. He was voted House Officer Educator of the Year and is on the Dean’s List for Excellence in Teaching. In 1995-96, he was a Dean’s Teaching Scholar at The University of Arizona College of Medicine. He received the Cardiology Fellowship Teaching or Mentoring Awards in 1996, 1999, 2001, 2008, 2009 and the Cardiology Interventional Lifetime EducationalExcellence award in 2015. Dr. Kern has been a Visiting Professor at the Sao Paulo School of Medicine, Sao Paulo, Brazil, and at The Leopold-Franzeus University of Innsbruck in Innsbruck, Austria.

Dr. Kern is active in the American Heart Association, serving as president of the Old Pueblo Division, Arizona Affiliate in 1992, and president of the AHA – Arizona Affiliate in 1993. He was chairman of the American Heart Association National Subcommittee for Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) from 1997-2000. He was Chairman of the of the American Heart Association’s Cardiopulmonary, Critical Care, Peri-opertive and Resuscitaiton Council during 2001-2013. He is currently the Chairman of the American Heart Association’s Emergency Cardiovascular Care Committee. He is a past chairman of the Emergency Cardiac Care Committee of the American College of Cardiology and a past governor of Arizona for the American College of Cardiology.

Dr. Kern is past chief of staff for Banner- University Medical Center, and the is the immediate past director of the Cardiac Catheterization Laboratories. He is an active cardiac interventionalist.

Dr. Kern has been named as one of the “Best Doctors in America” each year since 1996.

Previous Hans Dahll Award Recipients:

  • Vinay Nadkarni, MD & Tom Aufderheide, MD, 2021
  • Mary Fran Hazinski RN, 2019
  • Tore Laerdal, 2017
  • Gordon Ewy, 2015
  • Joe Ornato, 2014
  • Lance Becker, 2012
  • Knickerbocker, Jude & Kouwenhoven (posthumously), 2010
  • Max Harry Weil, 2008
  • Peter Baskett, 2006
  • Roger White, 2004
  • Richard Cummins, 2002
  • Mickey Eisenberg, 2000
  • Douglas Chamberlain, 1998
  • Leonard Cobb, 1996
  • Leon Chameides, 1994
  • Peter Safar, 1992
  • Bill Montgomery, 1990
  • Hans Dahll, 1988