History of ECCU

20 Years in the Making


2017 marks the 20th anniversary of the incorporation of the Citizen CPR Foundation (CCPRF), the planning host for the Emergency Cardiovascular Care Update (ECCU) conference. ECCU is a biennial conference featuring current information and trends on cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and promotes best practices as well as innovative and effective methods for CPR/AED education.

In the Beginning…

It had its beginnings in 1980 at the first Conference on Citizen CPR Houston, TX. The second Conference on Citizen CPR was in Kansas City, MO in 1982, and the third conference was in Omaha, NE in 1984. It was at this third conference that five individuals (Carol Belmont, Ed Craren, Bill Montgomery, Mary Newman, Roxanne Perrino) and Hans Dahll) saw value in perpetuating the conference and sought a mechanism for continuing the series. They created a small working group amongst themselves to create what we now know as CCPRF.

Getting Rolling

During the fourth conference in Toronto in 1986, the small group continued to work to conduct this very valuable conference every two years. The conference name was eventually changed from the Conference on Citizen CPR to the Emergency Cardiac Care Update and later to the name we call it today – the Emergency Cardiovascular Care Update.

Shaping the Future

ECCU continues to be at the forefront of cardiovascular care education and utilizes partnerships with the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross, the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada, and other industry partners to communicate the latest scientific finds in CPR and ECC.



Hans Dahll Award


The Hans H. Dahll Award was established in honor of Mr. Dahll and his many contributions to resuscitation education.

See previous Hans Dahll Award Winners.

William H. Montgomery Award


The William H. Montgomery Award is named in honor of Dr. Montgomery, co-founder of the Citizen CPR Foundation.

See previous William H. Montgomery Award winners.